Sitch"eww"ation

We’ve got a varmint in our house…

I was working out this morning and heard a weird sound… then I heard it again and again – so I slowly began walking around with my ear sticking out trying to ID the location. I quickly realized it was coming from the laundry room in the basement, and more specifically, from the pipe that is on top of the water heater.
Here’s what I heard:
(This video is for listening purposes… the visual is bad because I didn’t turn the light on the tried to fix the footage afterward.)


There seems to be something furious and furry stuck in the pipe. What do you think? A chipmunk? Mouse? Squirrel? He seemed to be getting madder and madder as time went by, but I didn’t know what to do, so I went out for a walk with my friend Emily and her daughter Madelyn.
About an hour later I came home and took Emily downstairs to let her listen to the little buddy… but we heard nothing. Not a peep, squeak, scratch, or thump. So I reached out my hand and knocked on the pipe… still nothing.
Emily looked at me like I was crazy, so I showed her the video – then she said “Maybe he got out” which led me down the following thought path:
  • The varmint is loose, scurrying around my house and is probably going to jump on my face tonight while I’m sleeping.
  • The varmint fell into the water heater and is polluting tomorrow’s shower time. Perhaps we need a “boil water” ordinance.
  • The varmint is dead in the pipe – and the pipe is pretty warm, so he’s probably going to be stinking up my house really soon.
  • The varmint is not alone – he has a family with 106 baby varmints and they’re probably in the walls throughout our house.
What should I do about this sitch”eww”ation?

________________UPDATE_____________________

I heard our varmint in the pipe again! Hooray! He’s not loose in the house… however, I heard something running in the ceiling while I was in Ruby’s room this afternoon. YIKES!! We’ve got an infestation!!

_____________another update________________

When Ryan got home from work I told him all about my adventures with the varmint and how it is probably going to jump on our faces tonight. His response, “Hunny, this isn’t Christmas Vacation.”

All I have to say is, ‘Won’t he feel just like Chevy Chase when a squirrel jumps on his face tonight!’

…and now I am going to try to go to sleep.
Leave a Reply

