What REALLY happens if you respond within 72 hours…

We got a letter in the mail a few days ago:

“Congratulations!
Our Promotional Department shows that you have been awarded, TWO ROUND TRIP AIRLINE TICKETS TO ANY MAJOR INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT ANYWHERE IN THE CONTINENTAL USA, including a THREE DAY/TWO NIGHT GETAWAY that can be used at hundreds of Marriott properties bla bla bla
Also, as an added gift, you will receive a $30.00 Dinner Card for Two to be used at any Red Lobster bla bla bla
Our records indicate that if you respond within 72 hours you will also receive a Savings Bucks Book providing thousands of dollars in savings bla bla bla… Also you will receive a $50 American Express Gift Card.
To find out how to claim this special gift, simply call 1-800-bla bla bla…”
Now, when I opened that letter, I put it straight onto the recycle pile and walked away because I don’t even like Red Lobster. A certain husband of mine (who shall remain nameless), considered it the chance of a lifetime, called the number and got us both signed up for a “no pressure 90 minute presentation about time shares…” tonight at 8pm.
I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a crazy night. I am trying to work up my feisty side and reviewing everything I know about the rejection cycle of sales in my head so I can give ’em the “one-two-chop” if they try to weasel us into putting out a single dollar of our own money.
I’ll let you know how it goes… I have a feeling it’s not going to be pretty.
Leave a Reply

