I cooked it! – Cheesy Zucchini Bake

This is the first of a new series I’d like to call, “I cooked it!” but whenever I type that, you have to read it in your head the way I’m saying it… with an extreme amount of enthusiasm and a jovial fist pump.

If you follow me on Pinterest, you might think I’m a foodie/cooker-type of person. If you know me in real life or have been reading this blog for any amount of time you know that I am far from adequate in the kitchen. Needless to say, “I cooked it!” and according to Ryan it was “pretty good!”

I found this recipe for cheesy zucchini bake, but it didn’t have any meat in it… because technically it’s a side dish. Being the super non-chef that I am, I don’t really do the whole “side dish” thing regularly, so I figured I’d just add some shredded chicken and call it dinner! Hooray!

I closely followed the recipe, except that I added chicken, didn’t have green onions so I left those out, and I didn’t measure the cheese, and I’m pretty sure the thyme and basil I had on hand is like 8 years old… other than that it’s the exact recipe. Oh, and I made a double batch so I could freeze a pan for later. “I cooked it!” (when you read that did you picture me saying it in your head? Good.)

Unlike her mother, Ruby is a good little cook. She loves to help me make dinner, she stirs and pours and eats the ingredients. It’s really wonderful. When I started letting her help me cook dinner, I figured it would help her want to eat dinner, but alas, she eats one corner of 1/4th of whatever we are having and then she’s done. I don’t even know how she is alive. I hear kids will eventually eat when they get hungry enough. that’ll be a great day.

2 thoughts on “I cooked it! – Cheesy Zucchini Bake

  1. I think I’m going to join you in the “I cooked it” blogging. You are the reason I keep trying. Never ever give up, right? (also, I cooked two things last night that were pretty good, too!)

Leave a Reply

