“I Cooked It!”…and was partially successful.

Here’s an “I Cooked It!” threefer: Pizza Casserole, Zesty Italian Chicken and Glazed Pork Chops. Don’t forget that whenever I type, “I Cooked It!”, you have to read it in your head the way I’m saying it… with an extreme amount of enthusiasm and a jovial fist pump.

photo courtesy of formamas.blogspot.com

photo courtesy of formamas.blogspot.com

The week started out great. I found this Pizza Casserole recipe on Pinterest and it looked delicious in the picture so “I Cooked It!”. Ruby helped me assemble the ingredients and we threw it in the oven. It seriously is one of my new faves… wouldn’t it be great to be able to eat delicious pizza every night? Ryan said it was pretty good but needed more sauce next time. I LOVED it! I ate the leftovers for lunch and loved it again. Definitely making this one again!

A couple of nights ago “I Cooked It!” but it didn’t go so well. Making Crock Pot Italian Chicken and was taking a bit of a risk since in 7.5 years I’ve never made anything in a crock pot that Ryan has actually liked. I thought it was delicious and definitely zesty. Ryan said, “It’s alright. I don’t love it.” which means, “please don’t make this again.” Then he ate some Ritz crackers with peanut butter.

photo from pinterest

If you want to give it a try, here’s the recipe – Crock Pot Italian Chicken: 4 chicken breasts, 1 packet Zesty Italian dressing seasoning, 1 8 oz. cream cheese (softened), 2 cans cream of chicken soup; Cook on low for 4 hours. If sauce is too thick, add a little milk. Serve over pasta.

Last night’s dinner was a beautiful sight. These Glazed Pork Chops were juicy and delicious and looked so pretty on my fiesta ware plates. “I Cooked It!” Woo-hoo!

Unfortunately, Ryan got paged and had to do an admission right as the chops finished cooking – so he had to enjoy his meal re-heated an hour after the rest of us were done eating. boo. He said they were still really good. I’m just happy to have a meat that Ryan liked that didn’t require the grill.

 

7 thoughts on ““I Cooked It!”…and was partially successful.

  1. After reading your blog I made the pork chops this weekend – my husband and I both loved them and I was shocked at how simple it was! We both thought they were actually even better the next day. Total win!

    • Jeanna! That’s such great news that you guys liked them! I thought they were amazing! Next time I’ll have to make enough that we’ll have leftovers for the next day. 🙂

  2. I have to agree with Ryan, crock pots have a unique ability to turn generally good ideas into the devils playground. It amazes me that despite this fact most people and believe this is their best option for a potluck AND insist that it actually tastes good… BLASPHEMY!

    Additionally, hope all is well!

  3. I love the enthusiastic fist pump I am envisioning! You are a great wife, Amber. Is that a Cutco knife next to that pork chop?;)

Leave a Reply

