Unglued Mama Mornings

I don’t have school-age kids yet, but Ruby is starting preschool in the fall. I read an article this morning that made me realize how much I need to begin praying NOW to prepare my heart for those days ahead.

The girls and I have places to be most days, and even though those places are the zoo or the park, sometimes it’s truly a challenge to get out the door by a certain time. I find myself getting frustrated, hurrying around, and sometimes leaving without combing Ruby’s hair (which is a sight to behold!) If I am coming “unglued” already and we haven’t even entered the school-age years, I’m in trouble!

 

Proverbs 31 Ministries has a daily devotional and today’s “Unglued Mama Mornings” by Lysa TerKeurst is worth a read. Here’s a snippet:

Lysa writes, “I want to be an uncommon calm in the midst of chaos and an example of peace for my kids in a world of pressure. For that to happen, I came up with a plan:

Tell the world to wait.
When I wake up, my mind is like a dry sponge. What I soak up first will saturate me most deeply. If I don’t want to be consumed with the stresses of my day, I must soak up what will renew my mind instead — God’s Word. Even if it’s only for 5 minutes, I’ve got to put the world on hold until I’ve checked in with God.

Remember I’m managing blessings.
If I want my attitude to be made new, I must keep things in perspective. While my frustrations seem big, things like lost shoes and less than perfect lunches aren’t big problems. They are small aggravations that come with managing blessings.

Let my kids own their ‘irresponsibilities.’
My kid’s irresponsibility will not become my emergency. I need to communicate my expectations so they know they’re going to have to own the consequences of their choices. For example, if they wait until the last minute to print their report and the printer has no ink, they’ll have to print it at school or turn it in late. Either way, I can’t own this situation and let it throw me into frantic, fix-it mode. I can let the consequences of my kid’s choices scream, so I don’t have to.

What do you think? Would your mornings be less unglued if you followed Lysa’s wise morning plan? I’m going to start now – I need all the help I can get!

Leave a Reply

