Love God, love your husband, love your kids. Keep it simple and chill out.

Some of my mom friends and I have been conversing about our calling as mothers – and whether we should feel bad about not really “doing” enough “christian type-stuff” in addition to our duties as wives and mothers. Should we feel bad that we haven’t been taking our kids to volunteer at the food pantry each week? Should we feel guilty that we turned down that offer to help more regularly in that ministry at church? Is it bad that the daily task of mothering is pushing us to capacity and all we want to do is go to bed at 8pm when our kids do? Most importantly, as a mom, am I really making a difference for Christ? How do I know I am fulfilling the mission that God has given to me? I have gifts and talents that I used before I had kids… how can I use my gifts now? Is there more I could be doing to further the Kingdom? Am I doing enough? What does the bible have to say about motherhood?

Maybe you’re a mom and you’ve had some of the same questions run though your mind. Maybe we all need to help one other step back, take a deep breath, and regain biblical perspective in our lives.

For me, to regain perspective (which is so easily lost amidst the piles of laundry, dirty diapers, whining, messes, etc.) these are my thoughts:

This is a season of years, months, days, hours, minutes filled to the brim with raising the children that God has gifted me with. Right here, within the walls of this humble house I have the incredible responsibility to train up my daughters into the women God created them to be. Right here, in a city that doesn’t feel quite like home, I am called to be a light for Christ to my little family on a daily basis, in hopes that they will be little lights for Christ wherever they go, for the rest of their lives as well. I believe their lights will shine farther than mine ever could alone – so I feel peace in this season… and I’ve been told that little people grow up way too fast, so I know this truly is a short season.

Do I wish I could hop on a flight to India to spend a few weeks serving with Raj and his team reaching hundreds and thousands for Christ? Yes! I would love that so much – but in this season, my calling is right here. My job description is to love God, love Ryan, love my kids. Keep it simple and chill out… knowing that maybe in another season, later in my life Lord willing I’ll be on that plane to India, or serving in some great ministry, or helping more in my church. All of those good things do not outweigh the GREAT thing that is my current job description as a mother to young children. This whole article is SO ENCOURAGING! I’m going to share an excerpt below. It’s based on Titus 2:3-5. If you are a mom, know a mom, have a mom or are someday going to be a mom this is for you.

Moms, Jesus wants you to chill out about being a mom. You don’t have to make homemade bread to be a faithful mom. You don’t have to sew you children’s clothing to be a faithful mom. You don’t have to coupon, buy all organic produce, keep a journal, scrapbook, plant a garden, or make your own babyfood to be a faithful mom. There’s nothing wrong with these things, but they’re also not in your biblical job description.

Your job description is as follows:

  • Love God. This simply means finding some time during the day to meet with the Lord. It doesn’t have to be before all the kids are awake. It doesn’t have to be in the pre-dawn stillness. Your job is to love God. How you make that happen can look a million different ways.
  • Love your husband (unless you’re a single mom, of course). Your second job is to love and serve your husband. Husbands are to do the same for their wives, but that’s for a different post. If your husband really likes homemade bread, maybe you could make it for him. But don’t make homemade bread simply because you see other moms posting pictures of their homemade bread on Facebook.
  • Love your kids. Your calling as mom is to love your kids and teach them to follow the Lord. They don’t need to know Latin by age six. If they do, more power to you. But that’s a bonus, not part of the job description. Your job is simply to love your kids with all your exhausted heart, and to teach them to love Jesus. That’s a high calling. Don’t go throwing in other, extraneous things to make your life more difficult. If you want to teach your kids to sew, great. But don’t be crushed by guilt if your kids aren’t making stylish blazers by the age of 10.

Moms, Jesus wants you to rest in him. He wants you to chill out. His yoke is easy and his burden is light. Don’t compare yourself to other moms. Don’t try to be something God hasn’t called you to be. If the mom blogs are making you feel guilty, stop reading them. Be faithful to what he has truly called you to do, and know that he is pleased with you. When your kids are resting, don’t feel guilty about watching an episode of “Lost”, or whatever your favorite show may happen to be.

Love God, love your husband, love your kids. Keep it simple and chill out.

15 thoughts on “Love God, love your husband, love your kids. Keep it simple and chill out.

  1. Amen!!! Love, Love, Love!!!!! You are such a bright light in this dark, dark world dear Amber!! Thank you for sharing these Truths with the world!! I love you!!!

  2. Thank you for sharing these thoughts! They are so comforting. It is great to think of these 3 being the most important in the big picture.

  3. I needed to hear this!!!! Thank you for sharing your thoughts! You shine a light to all of us with your words 🙂

  4. Great post, Amber! This is coinciding with our Frantic Family series at church. I have 4 girls ranging in age from 15 to 3 and I would like to add that a “season” can last for a long period of time and that’s ok! I cherish this time & place that God has me at 🙂

  5. Love love love this! This has been on my heart so much lately and your thoughts are so encouraging. I know your gifts and desires and you truly are exactly where God wants you for this season. love you, thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

