Until We Meet Again

I’m not good at goodbyes. Is anyone? I generally get teary, then swallow the lump in my throat while trying to compose myself by breathing deeply, which only makes the next sob out of my mouth sound that much louder. It’s not pretty folks. It’s all downhill from there…

One of the hardest things about having a hubby in the medical world is that you make friends with other people who have husbands in the medical world too. Wonderful, dear friends who understand your life without explanation and know what you’re talking about when you tell them your husband is a PGY 6 Peds GI Fellow. As is evidenced by my own experience starting our marriage in Chicago during medical school, finding out on Match Day that we were moving to Grand Rapids Michigan for residency, and then matching again for fellowship in Columbus Ohio, medical training requires a lot of moving throughout the journey.IMG_0803

Today I said goodbye to my dear friend Katie who is moving to Atlanta for her husband’s residency. Katie was one of my first friends from Side By Side. Her daughter Lucy is Ruby’s best buddy in the whole world – they are truly two peas in a pod. There is nothing easy about saying goodbye to close friends. IMG_9805 IMG_5594

It’s always hard… it’s as hard to be the one moving as it is to be the one watching your friends move away. Being in a group like Side By Side means that every year a handful of your close friends move away and a handful of new potential friends move to your city and get involved with your group. The friendships are worth it and I’m so thankful for my friends, but goodbyes seem to be an unending part of the process.IMG_1041 IMG_0778

I am resolved to continue being in relationship with medical wives even though I know there will be pain in the parting. We need to be in fellowship with one another. God created us for community. Now I just have to figure out a way to explain to my not quite 4-year old that her BFF Lucy lives in Atlanta now. While Katie and I choked back tears, Ruby and Lucy had a great time cracking one another up during our farewell lunch together today… photo-87

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.
Numbers 6:24-26

One thought on “Until We Meet Again

  1. When I stop crying I’ll thank God for my own dear friends: the ones who’ve left me, the ones still with me and the ones I’ve had to leave. Thanks for this post Amber.
    You shine.

Leave a Reply

