Rubyisms

VACA Beach 2013 1 _27

  • She called from the upstairs bathroom, “Mommy! This is the first time I peed in a cup at our house!” Horrified I ran upstairs and found that indeed, she had peed in a cup she found on the bathroom countertop. Apparently she remembered me trying to get a urine sample from her at the pediatricians office.
  • While looking very closely into my eyes, “Mommy! I can see myself in your eyes! Your eyes are like a mirror!”
  • “Do you know what kind of good we eat at Halloween? Macaroni and marshmallows and also watermelon! They’re good for you too!”

IMG_3561

  • “When it’s dark outside it’s ominous.”
  • Ryan: “I’m gonna watch the Tour.” Ruby: “Well that’s unsettling.”
  • “Hold on, hold on. Let’s see what’s going on here.”
  • “Aaaarrrgggg! There’s corn everywhere!”
  • “Mommy, we have eyes to see so we can see treasures.”
  • After accidentally head-butting me in the face, “It’s ok mommy. God makes our bodies heal.”
  • “Mommy, if I see a clue then I can totally pick it up!”
  • On a long drive back to Michigan Ryan and I switched seats so I could drive for a while, Ruby told Ryan, “Daddy, thank you for sharing the steering wheel! That’s so nice when you share with Mommy.”
  • I took her to the splash park and instead of playing in the fountains she spent an hour putting mud puddle water into sandwich baggies.IMG_3515
  • “These apple slices are exquisite!”
  • “Is tomorrow not a far day?” She has no concept of how long any length of time is. I’m hoping to figure out a way to help her understand this soon… which could be a long tome or a short time from now.
  • “What’s the big holdup? It’s taking so so so so so looooong! It’s taking FOREVER!!”
  • “Digestive juices help our bodies stay healthy. That’s why we have digestive juices. Every kind of kid and every kind of baby and every kind of mom and dad have digestive juices. Isn’t that great news mommy?!?”
  • When I pulled off her band-aid I told her it wouldn’t hurt too bad. After it was over she said, “It felt good like a blanket!”
  • She asks everyone, “What are you trying to prove??”
  • On the drive home from church, “We learned about praying. We find a quiet place to pray… like how I always go in my closet to pray.” I had no idea she was praying in there. ha!
  • “…and butterflies use their tongue as a straw!”
  • During an intense moment after Ryan and I couldn’t get her to let us get the splinter out of her foot, Ryan told her if it gets infected her foot could fall off. She looked at him with sternly and replied, “But daddy, my foot has bones in it! God made our bodies not to fall apart!!!!” IMG_3482

I am so excited for Ruby to FINALLY start school again. She went 2 mornings a week last year, and starting Sept 9th she will be going to preschool 3 mornings a week. YAY! She went to the dentist and the eye doctor to get all ready for school. Both appointments were the highlight of the week. She loves going to the doctor. ha!IMG_3335 IMG_3391

One thought on “Rubyisms

Leave a Reply

