10 Month Old Charlie AKA “Mr. Busy Pants”

IMG_9866I’ve carved out a few minutes to quickly update you on my Charlie boy. He is currently contained in his crib, which is the only reason I am able to write this post. Since Charlie became mobile my life has clicked into warp-speed. I took these pictures of A Polar Bear checking him out at the Columbus Zoo the day before he started crawling around. If it had been the next day, he may not have sat there so nicely for me.  IMG_8955

Charlie is into everything he shouldn’t be. Today I saved him from the small space between the couch and the table where he was trying to gnaw through the lamp cord. This morning he explored the bathroom trash can, the pantry, and spent a good amount of time trying to get under the fridge.photo-98

Everything is interesting. Everything is worth getting to. Nothing could be more amazing than whatever it is that could be hiding behind the toilet.photo-97

Ryan (my hero) saved Charlie’s life with the Heimlich Maneuver a few weeks ago when he choked on a puff during lunch at COSI. This kid would rather feed himself a burrito than have me spoon-feed him some baby food. The other night after dinner Ruby exclaimed, “Mommy, Charlie is a good helper because he eats everything off of the floor!” Yes Ruby. Yes he does.IMG_0336

Don’t tell the girls, but I’ve thrown away every Polly Pocket outfit that their dolls used to have – because he wants to eat them all. I’ve trained Ruby and Clara to help me know if Charlie has something in his mouth. The good news is that within the past couple of days he is doing less “swallowing” of things and more “carrying things around in his mouth like a dog would.” For example, we usually play on the playground at Ruby’s school after picking her up. It’s covered in bark – he will find a big chunk, put it in his mouth, and happily carry it around the playground for as long as we are there. That same, big, slobbery piece of bark is removed when we leave the park and everyone is happy. There may or may not be bark in his mouth in this pic.  IMG_0029

He’s the loudest of all my children. He happily squeals at a pitch that could break glass. I hope no one is talking to me right now because I am deaf and can’t hear them anyway.
IMG_0466

Charlie loves to pull up on everything and thinks its fun to stand by the stairs… until that one time he climbed up to the 2nd step and then dove head-first back to the floor. I put up a baby gate up that afternoon and experienced approximately 1.25 days of peace before he figured out how to open it. He thinks the gate is a fun toy I gave him; a puzzle of sorts.
IMG_0745

I did more “house-proofing the babies” than “baby-proofing the house” with Ruby and Clara… but I’ve been changing my tune now that I’ve got a small explorer – inspector – detective on my floors.IMG_0035

At his 9-month appointment (a month ago) he was 17.5 pounds, but my biceps and back are telling me that he’s at least three times heavier than that now.IMG_9001

I know he loves me so much – except for when I’m trying to change his diaper, then he wants to get as far away from me as possible.IMG_0462

Charlie is totally the guy everyone wants to have around. His sisters adore him. He’s fun. He’s happy to do whatever everyone is doing. He doesn’t complain much. All the ladies who volunteer in the nursery at church always want to take him home with them. I’m so happy I’m the one who gets to take him home.

IMG_9111

4 thoughts on “10 Month Old Charlie AKA “Mr. Busy Pants”

  1. Kerwyn and I laughed so hard reading this. Charlie and Luke seem so similar. We had to leave a quiet restaurant frantically when he wouldn’t stop squealing at the top of his lungs- an issue we’ve never had before with Lexie.

  2. Oh, that made me laugh. Aren’t boys a different ball game all together?! I could particularly relate to the bark in the mouth (although it has been an assortment of unmentionables over the past few years) and the fact that Charlie figured out the gate within moments of its installation. OH…and the squealing. The shrieking. Oh BOY…I thought that Isaac would never outgrow that. Loved the post!

Leave a Reply

