Rubyisms

It’s been too long since my last Rubyisms post. Now that school is in session I don’t get to see her 24/7 but that doesn’t mean I’m missing all the hilarious things coming out of her mouth. I’m sure her teachers could add to this list…

IMG_6108

  • “Mommy! Call all your friends because I’m having a coloring party so they can all buy whatever they want but they won’t cost a price!! So, you wanna buy one?!?!”
  • During bedtime prayers a few weeks ago, “…and God, you made the fireflies glow and put wings on their bottoms and I just love what you have made.”IMG_5495
  • “The way kids drink pop is you freeze it and it tastes good for them, it’s a freeze pop.”
  • “God is perfect but he made us not perfect. But God can see us! He sees everything! I bet he has a loooong neck!”IMG_5299
  • She rides her scooter everyday and calls her kneepads “knee patches” and elbow pads “elbow patches.”
  • Charlie was laughing at Ryan during dinner the other night, Ruby exclaimed, “I guess Charlie likes being in our family.”
  • Kindergarten in Ruby’s favorite thing. She often talks about the principal because he’s out on the playground with the kids at recess. She tells me, “He’s the ruler of the entire school.”IMG_0026
  • Within the first week of kindergarten Ruby was already telling me she didn’t need me walking her all the way to her class. “I just know just where I’m going mommy. I know just the way! I can do it by myself!” Amazingly, she actually does know how to get to her class, hang up her coat and backpack and give her folder to her teacher each morning. I’m amazed.
    IMG_5949
  • She’s been practicing her joke-telling, “Why is the Letter C blue? Because it’s some kind of nut! HA! I told you I’m a good joker!”
  • We’ve been talking about how when she prays she can just talk to Jesus like she’s talking to a friend. Now during her prayers at bedtime she throws in things like, “…and you know what God?…”IMG_0072
  • We’ve yet to take her to Chuck E Cheese, which she calls, “Chuck’s Cheese-Its”
  • This summer she went to VBS at Ryan’s parent’s church. She came home and announced, “Mommy! At VBS I got to see a REAL Christian!”
  • IMG_5993
  • Ruby loves wearing dresses all the time, but in the mornings when she wakes up early for school she is always “freezing” and chooses  to wear her sweatpants and matching zip-up sweatshirt to school. Purple velour from head-to-toe is a good look on her.
  • “I love Charlie a hundred gallons! That’s a lot!”IMG_5262
  • Ruby’s friend Genevieve made her a loom friendship bracelet which broke. She told Genevieve, “We don’t need a bracelet for friendship, we just ARE friendship.”
  • She loves playing in the dirt behind our garage. “I’m digging!” “I’m soiling my garden!”IMG_0304
  • “Mommy, Are there any mommy long-legs or kiddie long-legs?” In reference to all the daddy long-leg spiders she was finding on our swing set.
  • She fell off her scooter and scraped her knee, when she looked down she screamed, “MY BLOOD IS JUST FALLING OUT OF MY BODY!!”IMG_5993
  • “MOM! I heard from my teacher that our school is a BUILDING!!”
  • As she walked out from behind the garage I asked, Where were you? “I was making a worm die for God’s sins.”
  • Did you make any new friends at school today? “Oh yes! So many!” Do you know any of their names? “Not really.”IMG_5710
  • And now, I present to you the most enthusiastic picture of Ruby anyone has ever taken: her Kindergarten school picture. I love these hilarious memories and I love my hilarious Ruby girl.IMG_0882
3 thoughts on “Rubyisms

  1. Pingback: Claraisms | amberWIRE(dot)com

Leave a Reply

